Short description

The human presence dates back to the Palaeolithic period and winds along all the successive epochs, prehistoric and historical, transforming the island’s landscape. Archeology documents cultural emergencies from the pre-Nuragic to the Byzantine age, while architecture, art and literature accompany the historical path from the judicial to the contemporary age.

Situated in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, Sardinia is the second largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, after Sicily and before Cyprus. It covers the 8% of the Italian surface and is divided into five administrative provinces (Città metropolitana di Cagliari, Sassari, Nuoro, Oristano, Sud Sardegna).

Sardinia is politically one of the five Italian autonomous regions. Its statute gives the Sardinia region a limited degree of autonomy, entailing the right to carry out the administrative functions of the local body and to create its own laws in a strictly defined number of domains.

The regional administration is constituted by three authorities:

  • the Regional Council (legislative power)
  • the Regional Junta (executive power)
  • the President (chief of executive power)


Sardinia counts 1,653,135 inhabitants. It is the fourth least populated region in Italy, with a population density of 69/km2, slightly more than a third of the national average.


Although the main language is Italian, Sardinia has its language recognized as a minority language by the regional law n. 26 of 15 October 1997. Even today, Sardinian language is spoken all over the island, considering that in some rural villages old people use only Sardinian language to communicate with compatriots.

Local Working group

Local Working group

The following partners are involved in the study of Sardinia: The following local stakeholders have declared their interest in participating in the local study of Sardinia in the frame of the Soclimpact project....

View More